Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra:

The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra’s stunning winter season continues!

Standby tickets are available on the day of the concert, anyone aged 65 or over can purchase half priced tickets. These are available in PERSON ONLY at Liverpool Philharmonic Hall Box Office. Standby tickets are limited to 2 per person. Standby tickets are subject to availability .

Petrenko’s Shostakovich

Friday 22 January 2016 2:30 pm Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Prokofiev Classical Symphony
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No.2
Shostakovich Piano Concerto No.1
Khachaturian Gayane Suite No.3

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Boris Giltburg piano Tickets from £14

When the  young Russian piano virtuoso Boris Giltburg teams up with Vasily Petrenko in Russian music, something very special happens. Don’t miss this chance to hear this dynamic duo in both of Shostakovich’s piano concertos: the cheerful, romantic Second and the brilliantly witty First. And stand back as Petrenko lights two more Russian firecrackers: Prokofiev’s zingy little Classical Symphony, and Khachaturian’s high-kicking balletscore.


Dances and Variations

Sunday 31 January 2016 2:30 pm

Bartók Dance Suite
Brahms Variations on a Theme by Haydn
Dvořák Symphony No.8

Vasily Petrenko conductor

Tickets from £14

Dvořák simply couldn’t stop writing good tunes, and his Eighth Symphony begins with a hymn and ends with an all-out kneesup. Bartók gives Hungarian folksong a generous dash of paprika in his fiery Dance Suite. The Orchestra goes back a long way with this music: Vasily Petrenko supercharges it tonight, and by way of contrast, matches it with the noble Haydn Variations by Dvořák’s old friend (and Bartók’s early inspiration) Johannes Brahms.


La Mer

Friday 19 February 2016 2:30 pm
Liverpool Philharmonic Hall

Timothy Jackson Six Lancashire Folksong Settings
Premiere of Symphony Orchestra version
Prokofiev Piano Concerto No.1
Ravel Mother Goose Suite
Debussy La Mer

Vasily Petrenko conductor
Simon Trpčeski piano

Tickets from £14

Take Vasily Petrenko, the Orchestra and the fabulous Macedonian pianist Simon Trpčeski, add Russian music – and sparks will fly. That’s reason enough not to miss their high-voltage take on Prokofiev’s irreverent First Piano Concerto, but the treats don’t stop there, as Petrenko and the Orchestra lose themselves in Ravel’s dream fairytale and plunge into the sparkling waves of Debussy’s La Mer.

For more information go to the Liverpool Philharmonic website